Wednesday, March 11, 2015

New Board Members and Committee Chairs

The Albuquerque Public Schools Board of Education elected new officers and swore in newly elected members at their regular meeting on March 4, link.

Dr. Donald Duran was elected President.

Dr. Analee Maestas was elected Vice President.

Steven Michael Quezada was elected to continue as Secretary.

Barbara Peterson will serve as chairperson of old District and Community Relations Committee; now the Equity and Engagement Committee.

Peggy Muller-Aragón will chair the Finance Committee
Maestas will chair the Audit Committee.

Lorenzo Garcia will continue as chairperson of the Capital Outlay, Property and Technology Committee, and

Dr. David Peercy will hold on to the chair of the Policy and Instruction Committee where he will continue to obstruct open and honest public discussion of ethics, standards and accountability in the leadership of the APS.

Duran gave us a glimpse of a positive new direction for public forum.  His first motion as Board President was to move to extend the public forum time limit to include some speakers who otherwise would not have be allowed to speak.

Kudos to him and the unanimous agreement the board offered.

photo Mark Bralley

No comments: